The obligatory introduction!

February 2, 2010 at 9:19 am 3 comments

Hello, all. This isn’t my first or only blog, but it is the first time I’ve had a blog exclusively dedicated to one subject – babywearing. I have a lot of babywearing in my main blog (ask me for a link if you’re interested), but decided it would be nice to pool my babywearing resources into one area.

I plan to make a number of videos over the coming months (and years!), showing other people different ways to wear more than one baby or child. At the moment, I have 25 week old twins. This means that a lot of the carries suitable for newborn twins are no longer okay for my babies, so I am going to do my best to search out others who are willing to contribute their pictures and videos to the site.

I also have babies of the same ages, so most of my stuff will focus on tandem wearing twins, or solo babywearing. Likewise, I may search out other parents with children of different ages who tandem wear if that is something people would find valuable.

Babywearing is an old art, but always evolving. Some of the carries I plan to show you in picture, video, and word have been made up by parents, and I’ll do my best to always credit them. Things are always shifting and being created, and people are always finding new ways to babywear. I think this is particularly true of tandem wearing, because you have to be creative in times of need.

Please always feel free to comment with questions or suggestions. I genuinely want to help people interested in babywearing find easy, comfortable, and secure ways to get closer to their babies/children!

Welcome.

Entry filed under: babywearing, tandem babywearing, twin babywearing, twins. Tags: .

Babywearing fails!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christy  |  February 2, 2010 at 11:13 am

    This is going to be awesome. I can’t wait to learn more.

    Reply
  • 2. Bridget Moody  |  February 2, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    I have twin girls and it’s sooo hard to wear them both at the same time. The one wrap I’ve had some success is the Mobey. I get discouraged with it because it’s like a ridiculous amount of fabric. Currently I’m searching for two small slings (less fabric) that I can put my 7 week old girls in. Any suggestions on the type of slings?

    Reply
    • 3. existere  |  February 3, 2010 at 8:10 am

      I may use your question for an entry, if that is okay with you?

      I think Mobys are recommended for small twins, but don’t personally think they are fab once your baby hits a certain weight. I am going to put up videos with wrapping.

      Lately I like putting a baby on my front in a smaller wrap, then the second baby on my back in a Connecta. (Google ‘Connecta’, or look at that picture of us in the header!). It’s a carrier that uses very short straps and buckles and is the easiest thing ever. Seriously takes about two seconds to put on.

      I haven’t tried with two Connectas yet, but am going to soon and share the results!

      I do find wrapping to be very supportive of me and the babies, but wrapping has a sharp learning curve. I encourage you to keep trying, maybe with just one baby every now and then. Once you really get the hang of it you can have such variety and choice in how you want to wear your twins.

      Also, congrats on the babies!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

