News & things.

April 2, 2010 at 1:13 pm 2 comments

So….we’ve got family time for the next six days as we’re all home together. I am busy, busy, busy uploading a lot of new babywearing videos – both solo and tandem carries. These tandem carries work for twins, or a toddler and a newborn.

I tried out a new carry just for a lovely Mama named Catherine, who has a gorgeous son and is very, very close to her due date! She wanted to tandem wear, and I thought I might give her some other ways to think about wearing them both. And to my surprise, I found a new carry I love and it has even given me new appreciation for my semi-stretchy wrap.

A sneak preview:

Perhaps a slightly dodgy picture, but a lovely carry that is eminantly suitable for an older child and a baby. Or, you know, two babies!

As of this past Wednesday, Snort is a whopping 19 lb 7 oz, and Coconut is 17 lb 4 oz (@ 33 weeks old).  And I can honestly say that though this was my first time trying this and no doubt I can improve my technique, it was so bloody comfortable I wore them for ages! Such a delightful surprise.

So thank you, Catherine, for getting pregnant and chatting with me. I’m sure I have not ‘invented’ this as a carry, but I know I’ve never seen or heard of it. Bless me in my ignorance, maybe, but I think it highlights something lovely about babywearing:

There are a lot of ways to do it. A lot.

And sometimes you’ll try and screw it up (perhaps I will upload my ‘oh, fuck it!’ video too), sometimes it’s just be normal and lovely, and sometimes you’ll try something new and want to marry it.

Something I tried and do not like (yet?) is this:

Oh. There is no picture of it. That’s how much I did not like it. There is a video, though, and I have yet to decide if it is a ‘how to’ or a ‘babywearing fails’ video. Or perhaps a ‘how to NOT do it.’

Or a ‘how to do the most painful and screwed up carry in the known universe’ video.

The other big news is that within about week, this site will be shifting to a new domain. All the same entries and features, but perhaps a bit more accessibility. I’m very excited about it and the countdown is officially on!

Hoping you all have lovely long weekends! I will not be online as much, but am still available in the Facebook group ‘babywearing twins’, on Twitter as @2moms2babies, or email 2moms2babies@gmail.com.

Entry filed under: babywearing, bwt housekeeping, life, tandem babywearing. Tags: .

Facing out in a ringsling? Best babywearing day EVER!!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christy  |  April 2, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    I might be in the market to learn some tandem wearing soon. We were taking about #2 in a really real way last night. Wow, I’m almost tearing up, this is the first time that I’ve really thought or “talked” about our conversation. I’m excited.

    Oh right, back on track. I can’t wait to see your new site and what wonderful things you do with it.

    I really want to see your oh fuck it video. I think it helps to see someone who is so confident mess things up. :)

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah  |  April 3, 2010 at 6:32 am

    Just found you here – P & N are round and mentioned you.
    I did some tandem wearing with Large and Small for the first few months – and I’m gearing up now for round two!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

