Babywearing fails!

February 2, 2010 at 9:59 am 8 comments

Several of my Twitter peeps and other-blog sorts have made comments that I am ‘Superwoman’ or do things while babywearing that they find scary (like getting a baby on my back!).

Well, I’m no different to anyone else…just had a bit more practice! And still need lots more.

I welcome my ‘fails’ because I can learn something from them. Right now, for example, I’m typing with one hand – holding Coconut (baby girl) on my lap, wearing Snort (baby boy) in a Back Wrap Cross Carry on my back. But, alas, it’s not tight enough, and to stop his head from totally leaning to the side in sleep, I am hunched forward to keep it in line with his body!!

When I first started I had many, many moments that were such epic fails they made me laugh.

For your pleasure:

So. When my babies were a bit younger they tended to go a bit nuts in the late afternoon/early evening. Of these screaming crazy times was my desire to wear both born!

Above you have my very first attempt to wear both babies in two wraps. I was on my own and too scared to try to do both in one wrap. You look at that picture and think, ‘Yeah, a little sloppy, but it appears to get the job done.’

This is us about thirty minutes later:

Charming, no? I had to keep leaning over as Snort’s whole body was sliding to one side (see? I am getting better. Today it’s just his head!), and Coconut was slipping ever downwards. This is because I didn’t wrap her very tightly, mistakenly worrying I would smoosh Snort.

Lesson learned.

I fully anticipate sharing more mistakes with you, and feel free to share your wisdom with me! My only regret is that during yesterday’s fail in the world’s loooooooooooooooongest wrap, I didn’t get pictures!!

Entry filed under: babywearing, babywearing fails!!.

The obligatory introduction! Five steps to babywearingtwins bloggy bliss?

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christy  |  February 2, 2010 at 11:10 am

    For a first attempt the fact that you lasted more then 30 minutes (albeit uncomfortably) is impressive. I have a Moby and still have trouble keeping Lily in it that long. It’s too darn stretchy for one thing.

    Reply
    • 2. existere  |  February 2, 2010 at 11:49 am

      I think she is probably too heavy for it!! Might be worth selling it on and getting a secondhand woven one!

      Reply
  • 3. Kristi  |  February 2, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    I love your blog. So far, so good! I think it’s great that you’ve continued to wear your babies, despite the “fails”. Parenthood is all about trial and error most of the time. Great article.

    Kristi, Live and Love…Out Loud
    @TweetingMama

    Reply
  • 4. Gliding through motherhood  |  February 2, 2010 at 2:44 pm

    You inspire me to try to wear both at once. I wear them all the time, but always separately. Maybe later today šŸ˜‰ I’ll take pictures. It won’t be with just one carrier though – I don’t know how you manage that! The only way I can get a baby on my back alone is with the Becco.

    Reply
  • 5. Accidental Pharmacist  |  February 2, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    Very cool idea for a blog. My mom is a twin, her brother and sister are twins and my brother and sister are twins so we talk a lot about what it’s like to have twins in my family. I have to admit, having grown up with younger twin siblings, I remember them as babies and still can’t imagine having twins with our babywearing/ cosleeping lifestyle. I’ll be watching your experiences with great interest!

    Reply
  • 6. Joni Rae  |  February 2, 2010 at 7:42 pm

    I love these pictures! If I had two I would wear them too- but I be it takes some getting used to! Congrats on lasting 30 minutes!

    Reply
  • 7. Natasha  |  March 5, 2010 at 8:11 pm

    That’s funny! When I was first learning to wrap my twins (both on my front on a pocket cross carry) I didnt know how to tighten the (what’s the word? rails? I’m still quite new to wrapping!)… anyway, I kept tying it too loosely and I didn’t know how to tighten the outside bits of the pockets that went over the babies and so they kept slipping in to the middle toward eachother and they would end up leaning on each other face-to-face and inevitably one baby would end up getting their nose or forehead chewed by the other! D’oh! It took a little bit of practise and I finally learned how to tie the wrap properly and it is a lot easier now that I don’t keep having to stop to pick their faces up out of each others (if that makes sense!?)

    Reply
  • 8. Natasha  |  March 30, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    Fail lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


