Twins in pocket front cross carry.

March 8, 2010 at 6:45 pm 9 comments

Well, kiddos, if you are expecting twins or have newborn twins, have we got the carry for you. The lovely Natasha (again, from my natural parenting board) has graciously offered to let me use a video she made.

She’s done two of this video, one with twinnies, one with dolls. I must admit I haven’t looked at the dolls one yet, because I loved seeing her baby girls!

This is a good carry for young or tiny twins. This carry is not recommended for your babies once they are beyond the newborn stage, as it will probably not be supportive enough, they will be cramped, and they will hurt your back!

But for tiny twinnies, oh, how sweet.

Without further ado, Natasha:

Many people also ‘froggy’ their twins’ legs – meaning that for each baby, both legs are put into a frog position inside the wrap, rather than hanging down. Who knows – maybe another parent with newborns will volunteer a video of how you do it!

Entry filed under: babywearing, guest stars, twin babywearing, videos, wraps.

Gorgeous guest stars: Zina! Can you do PFCC with a stretchy?

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Natasha  |  March 8, 2010 at 8:16 pm

    I don’t know if you saw, but I also made a video showing how to ‘froggie’ twins – I

    Reply
  • 2. Natasha  |  March 8, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    had to use dolls, though as my babies were too big by the time it occurred to me to make the videos!

    Reply
    • 3. existere  |  March 8, 2010 at 8:29 pm

      Now you need to make even more and post them all here!! x

      Reply
  • 4. Natasha  |  March 8, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    I just saw you mentioned my other video with dolls – that is the one showing how to froggie lol

    Reply
    • 5. existere  |  March 8, 2010 at 8:28 pm

      Ha! Will definitely have a look at it, then!!

      Reply
  • 6. Christy  |  March 8, 2010 at 9:18 pm

    That is so impressive!! And such a beautiful wrap.

    Reply
  • 7. Sara  |  March 9, 2010 at 3:16 am

    Can this be done with a stretchy wrap (ie, Moby)? Also, how long can you wear them like this? I know you said ‘newborn’ but when are they no longer newborns?! My two are only 10 days old so no issues, but how long can I carry them like this?

    Reply
    • 8. existere  |  March 9, 2010 at 8:37 am

      This can definitely be done in a Moby, and quite comfortably, too!

      I think the ‘how long’ question has more to do with the weight of your babies, not their ages. Stretchy wraps become non-supportive for one baby at around 15 pounds. So, I would guesstimate that it would be uncomfortable for twins that weighed 7 or 8 pounds each.

      I think it is also about the comfort level of all involved. When the Moby becomes too non-supportive, but you feel able to still wear on your both, you can move on to a woven wrap.

      Over the coming months I am going to be showing other supportive ways of wearing your baby, including both in one wrap.

      Congrats on your babies, by the way!!

      Reply
  • 9. Natasha  |  March 9, 2010 at 9:25 am

    My babies are 11 weeks old and over 9lbs each now, and this is still comfortable in the woven wrap – I can’t even feel their weight yet and the girls love it.

    I know with my close carrier (similar to a stretchy wrap) it became less comfortable when my daughter was about 18lbs and she started to slip down, after about an hour of wearing her in the close carrier at this weight the stretchy material didn’t maintain the tightness and supportiveness it had had when it had first been tied etc I imagine therefore that with a stretchy wrap like the moby that this carry would be a bit uncomfortable by now with babies the size of mine.as there is more than 18lbs worth of baby between them…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


