Using a mei tai for a front carry.

March 19, 2010 at 8:35 am 4 comments

Remember that night my wife was working till 9? From that erupted the babywearing videos that will be going up over the next week. First up, using a mei tai in a front carry.

Coconut hadn’t really slept all day and needed some sleep, and I needed some peace.

Sorry for the dark and grainy quality, but there was very little light. And much as I love you all, I wasn’t about to turn on all the lights in the early evening!

Here’s the video (with some notes on it afterward):

I did something slightly screwy with the lexi twist (the bit where I twisted the straps and brought them back round to the back). The most comfortable way is to bring both straps around to the front, and then twist on her back – bring the leftover straps under her legs and around to your back before knotting.

I started doing it this way, and then for some inexplicable reason swapped it around. I think I instinctively did this to try to hold her close and snug, and tie high to help my pelvis. Who knows, really! Doesn’t really seem to make much difference, as straps end up where they would be the other way, at any rate.

Finally, this is about the fourth time I have used a mei tai (which yes, I do know that it’s really pronounced MAY tye, I just can’t say it), and the second time I have used this particular Ocah – a lovely, generous mama from a forum has lent us two of her Ocahs, and I am hoping she’ll let us BUY this one at some point!!

Being a novice at mei tai ing doesn’t really feel very novice like, as I’m so used to wrapping and it really is very similar. I would say that the way I’ve done it in this video is really quite comfortable – the key is getting it nice and tight, and I’ve actually stolen the ‘support the baby’s weight and reach round with your opposite hand’ thing from my wife, who invented that for the buckle tais she uses.

And it is GREAT. Comfy. The best.

Now, what can you look forward to in the next entry? Why, the continuation of this video….what do you do when you’ve got one baby on your front and nice and calm, and the other starts crying?

Stay tuned.

Entry filed under: Asian/SSC, babywearing, videos. Tags: , .

What I discovered last night: Tandem carry: mei tai and buckle tai

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christy  |  March 19, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Another wonderful video. That is a beautiful mei tai (I hate the real way it’s pronounced too). I really like my mei tai but have never done the twist with the long straps. I’ll have to try that out, it looks super supportive.

    Reply
  • 2. saralema  |  March 19, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    I learned 2 new things from you today! In the 5 times I have used my mei tai (which I didn’t really know was pronounced that way!) since getting it, I have tied a knot in the front before taking it to the back. I’m going to try your twist.

    Question- I’m a little unclear- do the straps only go under/near babe’s legs when getting straps to the back?

    Reply
  • 3. CJ  |  March 19, 2010 at 8:21 pm

    OMG,I LOVED hearing your voice and accent! I know, totally NOT the point of the post, but hey. It’s me. What do you expect?!?

    Reply
  • […] March 22, 2010 To see how to get the baby on your front with a mei tai, click here. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


