Wiggleproof & FCC – two babies in one wrap!

March 24, 2010 at 8:48 am 5 comments

I think the carry you’re about to see was created by a woman called wraparoundjoy, but couldn’t swear to it. This is my go to carry – I use it in the house, for walks, etc.

Now, because I filmed this without my wife or some other adult around, you unfortunately can’t see what I’m doing to the baby when I’m leaned over – you know, when all you can see me is my butt? Yeah. Notes on this subject to follow (getting baby on your back, not on my butt – though if you really want me to, I suppose I could dredge up some thoughts on the topic.)

Without further ado:

Now, about that back business. A baby on your back should look like a baby on your front – knees higher than bum, legs nicely spread, etc. It is VERY IMPORTANT that you get about a third of the wrap under his or her bum. In fact, fabric should actually be between the baby’s crotch and your back, creating a comfy little pouch for them to sit in. This allows a baby to be what is called ‘well seated.’

I’m going to make a video showing you how to do this, but I can’t resist saying I’ll also make a video showing you a far easier way! But for now: if your baby is in ‘real’ clothes (a la tops and trousers) this will help you out.

Lie the wrap on the floor. Place your baby on top of the wrap’s middle point. Reach between the baby’s thighs and pull some fabric up over their crotch. Tuck this into the waistband of their trousers.

This ensures that when you swing the baby on your back, there is already fabric where it needs to be (though always, always double check) and makes the whole process more fail safe. I have had lots of bum poppage issues before – where you get the baby all wrapped up, but that band of fabric across their middle and under their bum comes out and you end up with a band of fabric up around your baby’s neck. I’ve not had this problem once since the tucking-it-in-the-pants trick, which a lovely mama named Sarah showed me.

Anyway, hope you kidlets liked the video. If you have any questions do feel free to leave a comment or get in touch on Twitter (@2moms2babies).

Entry filed under: twin babywearing, videos, wraps. Tags: .

‘Vlog’ rhymes with ‘blog.’ Catchy, that. I’m curious about you.

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Skeet  |  March 24, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    I think achieving the 2 in 1 wrap is like the holy grail and yet you make it look easy (I know, with practice it is).

    And can I say, swinging the baby onto your back is nowhere near as scary as it sounds!

    Reply
  • 2. Christy  |  March 26, 2010 at 4:59 pm

    Sorry I thought I commented on your greatness already. I must have written it out in my head but got distracted by Lily and never let the words get out.

    The suggestion to tuck the fabric into the back baby pants is great.

    Reply
  • 3. Amber Morrisey  |  March 26, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    You are all kinds of amazing! What fun.

    Reply
  • 4. Lucila  |  April 1, 2010 at 11:14 am

    Hi! Just to say: Amazing!
    and just a thought for your poor back…I noticed that when you grab yur babies you bend your back, it will probably do less damage in the long run if you kneel down…sorry if comment is annoying, but after a while I learnt that it is much better for my back, and with two, I suppose it will too! but if not…ignore!
    xx

    Reply
  • 5. Ildiko  |  September 18, 2010 at 10:18 pm

    Hi, I found your video very impressive! I was also wondering if there would be any possibility to carry triplets. My friend is expecting triplets and she would love to carry them. I did show her your video. 🙂 Thanks, Ildiko

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


