Travelling with multiples? A sling is the answer!

April 8, 2010 at 11:38 am 1 comment

Oh, and a quick word of praise for ringslings – when our babies were 4 months old, we went on a transatlantic flight. Yes, travel to a hotel, overnight stay, travel to airport, four hours in airport, eight or so hours on plane, two hours airport other side, one hour drive to my mother’s house.

THE RINGSLINGS WERE AWESOME.

We both wore the babies on our laps – they were cozy enough to sleep, and it gave us hands free to eat unappetizing food or play those annoying plane games on the tiny screen attached to the seat in front of you.

The were also a huge boon on the flight back, when every baby I touched seemed to go screamy, and I had to stand up and rock for what felt like hours at a time. It was much more comfortable to do this while my baby was in a sling than use my arms to hold him/her all that time, especially as I walked up and down aisles, barged into the galley, and downed Coke Zeros to help me stay awake.

Ringslings are very easy to loosen, so it was a snap to get the babies out for playing or eating. The slings are also blankety soft (they are slingified Didy waves wraps), so doubled as blankets. I also LOVED them for changing nappies on the plane.

Stand up, pop baby on (as I just kept the sling on the whole flight), grab the change bag, and squeeeeze into the tiny loo. Because whichever baby I would have was secure, I could take my time setting up the changing area in the way that best suited us – something I could tell other parents weren’t having who carried their babies in using their arms!

It was also easy to do everything in reverse.

I suppose the next little bit only applies to me – but when we got off the plane on the other side, our pushchair wasn’t there. I had a wheelchair, so a baby could be securely on me as I was pushed at the speed of light, and TMD had a baby on her, leaving her hands free to carry extra stuff.

So I do recommend them for planes – the lack of huge amounts of fabric in ringslings (compared to wraps or mei tai straps) made it a snap to get a baby comfortably on in a very confined space! This would also hold true for using a shorty wrap in a rebozo carry.

I think babywearing on a plane when you are a parent of multiples is pretty much an essential – or at least for us. Parents of singleton babies usually have another adult to hand the baby to while they sort things out. If the adult to baby ratio is one to one, you’re screwed! So practice with your sling of choice before you leave the house, and you’ll have a happier flight…

Entry filed under: babywearing, ringslings, twins. Tags: .

Ringsling – tummy to tummy/ front carry Tandem carry: ringsling and ruck

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Christy  |  April 13, 2010 at 5:20 am

    I could see that babywearing would be the only way to go when traveling with a baby but especially with two babies. You all look lovely in the photo.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


