Pocket front cross carry – stretchy wrap!

April 14, 2010 at 10:40 am 2 comments

This is a great carry for newborns or young babies in a stretchy wrap, except you can keep the whole outer pocket over their feet as well for that extra snuggle factor.

The wrap I’m using is a stretchy wrap, but is billed as being a ‘hybrid’ – something between a stretchy and a woven. I would say it is definitely less stretchy than others, and actually felt really supportive for this carry. Making this video has actually made me pull it out more!!

(It’s a Wrapsody Baby Bali Stretch – Isis colour, also known as a Gypsy Mama. This wrap is often also extolled as a supremely awesome wrap for twins – I would agree. Because it has that stretch, it means that if you are wearing two babies in the one wrap, the fabric is less likely to create pressure points. The weight of one baby is also less likely to cause the wrap to tighten on the other, making this more flexible and comfortable for the babies. I would still pick a woven wrap every time when it comes to heavier babies, though!)

My son weighed exactly 19 lb 7 when this was filmed, and I found it supremely comfy – have actually started using it for tandem carries (for only one baby, the other on my back in something else).

Another huge bonus for this carry is you can pre-tie. That means you get the wrap on and leave it on. Easy peesy to get a baby in and out throughout the day. And fabulous if you’re going to the doctor’s or wherever – no fabric dangling on the ground when you park the car, and baby (or babies!) nice and close rather than carried in a carseat (bad for your backs, moms and dads).

Entry filed under: babywearing, twin babywearing, videos, wraps.

Tandem carry: ringsling and ruck Modified Pocket Front Cross Carry – stretchy wrap

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Megan  |  April 15, 2010 at 3:09 am

    Maaaan, I wish I had found your blog when my daughter was little. The only carrier I had when she was a newborn was a crappy Infantino thing. I was excited about using it, but it hurt my shoulder so badly I rarely used it. I knew there were other carriers out there, but I was intimidated by them.

    Charlotte is one now, and I’m just getting interested in babywearing. Since we’re so late to the game, she’s a bit resistant, and I don’t want to stop her from walking around, but I’d like to do more of it instead of always using the stroller (though I do love my stroller).

    I’m borrowing an Ergo from a friend, and she’ll tolerate the back carry reasonably well, but that’s about it. I will be haunting your site so I’ll be ready for baby #2 someday!

    Reply
  • 2. Christy  |  April 15, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    That is the same sort of wrap I did with the Moby with Lily was tiny. I never got it tight enough because I was scared to suffocate her with my giant boobs. I know better now.

    I need to know what toy S was playing with that was singing because the whole video Lily was rocking back and forth smiling like crazy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other followers


